Music videos

New HYBE Girl Group NewJeans Unveil Music Videos For “Hype Boy” And “Hurt”

NewJeans, the latest girl group to debut under HYBE’s ADOR label, have released music videos for their new B-side tracks “Hype Boy” and “Hurt.”

Following the five K-pop members’ debut with “Attention” on July 22, NewJeans has released videos for two more B-sides of their upcoming self-titled EP, which will be released digitally on August 1 at 6 p.m. KST.

The first of the two tracks, “Hype Boy,” was released on July 23 at midnight KST, along with an “Intro” music video, linked to four videos not listed on the group’s channel for the first 24 hours.

The storylines of the clips unfold simultaneously, each focusing on a different member of the quintet and their respective love interests – except for Danielle and Haerin, who share a music video.

Earlier today (July 25), NewJeans shared their third song, acoustic pop number “Hurt,” alongside an equally stripped-down visual, complete with close-ups of the girl group.

The fourth and final track from the girl group’s debut album, “Cookie,” will arrive alongside the EP’s digital release on August 1. According to a press release from HYBE, three of the four tracks will serve as the “title tracks” for the disc. . Their self-titled record will also be physically released the following week, August 8th.

Additionally, NewJeans has launched a new app called Phoning, which is now available on iOS and Android. The app includes never-before-seen photos of the band, as well as a schedule detailing their upcoming release dates and promotional rollouts.

ADOR CEO and Chief Producer Min Hee-jin teased NewJeans’ debut in an interview earlier this year. Min explained that the group would “present the direction that I had specific plans for a long time for a new girl group.”

The five pieces are also Min’s first “major” project since joining the ranks of HYBE in 2019, according to a report by Korea JoongAng Daily. Min was notably a visual director at SM Entertainment previously, where she was in charge of the creative direction for some of K-pop’s biggest groups, such as Girls’ Generation, f(x), Red Velvet, SHINee, and EXO.